The Salt Shaker: ETFs, Carnivals, and Trade Commissioners

The Salt Shaker is an ongoing post theme that will highlight some of the interesting articles related to personal finance, business, or economics that I come across. Until now I have published the Salt Shaker (formerly called Weekend Reading) on a bi-weekly basis, but from today onward I will be publishing it weekly. It will be the first post of each week. So without further delay, here are some goodies in no particular order:

Blogs

Blog Carnivals

As for In Search of Salt, I just got back from a fascinating interview with a Canadian Trade Commissioner to Japan. I expect to have an article based on that interview on the site within the next week to ten days. Check back or subscribe to the blog to read that.

Hope everyone has a great week.

10 responses to “The Salt Shaker: ETFs, Carnivals, and Trade Commissioners

  1. Thanks very much for linking my blog. Some awesome links from fellow bloggers here too.

  2. Thanks for the mention!

  3. @Forest – No problem at all. I found your blog through Invest It Wisely; it’s always nice to find something new.

    @Big Cajun Man – Not at all. I always get a kick out of reading your posts.

  4. A World ex-Canada would be an easy way to diversify out of the Canadian market. I wonder what the duplication is from taking a world ETF though; Canada is surely not so heavily represented in the major indices?

    This is a pretty good roundup; thanks for including my giveaway! 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for including my article. It’s interesting to hear that folks are spending so much in Japan. I keep hearing that they will hit their “debt wall” before the U.S.. Thanks for the eyewitness account! 🙂

  6. Thanks for the mention and the link back to the Carnival, Myke. Looking forward to your notes from the interview with the Canadian Trade Commissioner to Japan. Have a smashing day and week!

  7. @Kevin – Your question about duplication would make a great blog post in and of itself!

    I’m not sure of the answer, but as for me, I have 50% of my portfolio in individual Canadian stocks, and an additional 10% in a Canadian Index. I don’t think I need any more Canadian exposure (want to bulk up elsewhere, actually) so would love a world ex-Canada.

    I really thought about if I should include your contest or not, as it means more competition for me winning one of your great prizes… I’m only half joking 😉

  8. @2 Cents – Not at all, I enjoy your blog very much. Thank you for including me in your July round-up. Since you only select a few posts for the month, I feel honoured. (I’m working on an “Nearly Everything I Learned About Investing I Learned From My Father, Part II,” by the way)

    As for Japan, it’s a strange place. Your shouldn’t confuse Japan the country with Japan the consumer. They are drastically different animals. However, click on my “Japan” category to see my thoughts on the country. The new government (especially the new Prime Minister) understands what needs to be done to save this place from itself… raise taxes. I paid about 7% in income tax last year, 10% when you include health premiums. Foolish!

    My Japan “eyewitness account” will be ongoing, so check back 🙂

  9. @Arjun – Thanks for creating the carnival in the first place!

    As for your other article, don’t mention it. Inflation is something that everyone needs to have a better understanding of. (Of course, I live in a perpetually deflationary country, but hey…)

    Glad you’re looking forward to the interview synopsis. It was an amazing chat, and he took a liking to me, so it looks like I will get the chance to have a dinner/get-together with the Canadian Ambassador the next time he is in my area. I’m sure that will create a new post or two as well.

    I will be sure to have a smashing week, and did I ever tell you how much I love the word smashing? It has popped up in at least on of my posts 🙂 (I believe I used “smashingly” to be precise…)

  10. Great list, Myke. Some very good articles there.

Leave a Reply

