Perception and Human Capital

When we were in high school, my buddy and I used to go to a relatively empty pool hall in a blue-collar part of town and play snooker for an hour or two. We’d then go to a heavily populated trendy pool hall and play King of the Table for another hour or two, usually only ever paying the dollar for the first game.

The “trick” was that after playing on a very large snooker table, with small balls and pockets, where the margin of error on a shot was very slim, it made playing on a standard pool table seem like child’s play. Just hitting the cue ball in the general direction seemed to produce spectacular results.

What does this have to do with anything?

I view my own human capital as my most prized asset. The return on my investment of time in relation to salary is leagues beyond any stock, bond or bank account. As such, I use it to near full capacity. Living below our means translates into retained earnings that will continue to work for us until they are needed.

Being young, healthy and motivated means that I can devote large amounts of time to producing wages. From Monday to Saturday, an average of 11 hours of my day is work/business related (my longest day being about 13.5 hours, and Saturday weighing in at a mere 8 hours).

Aside from cash, how does this 6-day, 66 hour work week benefit me?  The way I see it, I’m playing snooker now. I have been for the past 4 years, and plan to keep playing snooker for the next two. At that point we plan to move to Canada where, as I see it, a five-day, 40 hour work week will seem like child’s play.

Want to feel less busy? Fill your schedule for a few weeks. When you return to a normal schedule, you will feel as if just smacking the ball will produce spectacular results. 

14 responses to “Perception and Human Capital

  1. Pingback: Nearly Everything I Learned About Investing I Learned From My Father, Revisited | In Search of Salt

  2. It’s difficult tto find well-informed people in thi particular subject, buut you seem luke
    you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  3. Thhis information is priceless. When can I find out more?

  4. Thanks a lot for shaqring this with all of
    us you actually realize what you are talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please additionally consult with my web site =).

    We will have a link exchange contract among us

  5. I alll the ime emailed this blkog post paqge to all
    my friends, since if likje to reead it after thawt mmy links will too.

  6. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back often!

  7. To connect the social networking internet sites with your internet
    site and to be able to put a name and a face to every
    interest you create in your website, you can encourage
    them to hit the like” button just they would generally do
    in Facebook and all the other individuals.

  8. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful.
    I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and
    the way in which you say it. You make it
    entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a great web site.

  9. Your commitment is key to success with any diet, but particularly with this powerful Candida diet
    cleanse so hunker down and prepare for whatever you’ll have to endure.

    Knowing this reality beforehand will help make all the
    difference now when the negative thoughts of failure start creeping in during your
    program. Women also experience more challenging emotional issues that are linked to their connection with food.

  10. On the other hand, the developer must conduct requirements gathering process to identify the changes that need to be made in the software
    solution. For software development companies that are too small to
    have a local server set up and a separate Information Technology
    department, cloud computing can prove to be a great advantage.
    The software outsourcing firm adopts various methodologies to perform a particular
    task.

  11. Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

  12. I’d forever want to be update on new articles on this web site, saved to bookmarks!

  13. Then take her to bed and provide her an electrifying orgasm, next she’ll beg you for more.

    Anything lower than this might put in danger abdominal muscles well-being of people we are looking to protect.
    He was thinking about these products once, so always keep performing them.

  14. This piece of writing presents clear idea in favor of the new visitors of blogging,
    that genuinely how to do blogging.

Leave a Reply

